top of page
Search

5 Years of Review On




The day has finally come my dear readers. The greatest achievement that I could possibly claim. Five years of this website being live and running. Five years of writing reviews for your interest and enjoyment. Five years of playing video games and seeing what the industry had to offer. Five years of expressing my gaming opinions even on the smallest of titles. More than three hundred games have been covered by me and me alone, and for that I say is an achievement. This website isn’t very big nor is it very successful, but looking back at it I see it as a collective. A log containing my experience with gaming, improvement with analysis, and development as a writer. This project really means a lot to me, and in some ways has given me a purpose.


I think I stated this before, but the reason why I started this site was because someone influenced me to. Not a big youtuber or anything, but more like a friend. Growing up I didn’t have a lot of friends. I was often made fun of and isolated from other groups. I had to find a way to cope and the way I did that was through writing and playing video games. Then I thought it would be a good idea to write down my thoughts on games. So I did that and with time I gained an interest in criticism. Nobody read these journal entries, but it felt like my opinions and feelings meant something. I kept writing in my journals until I eventually entered high school. There I met my first friend and we shared a lot in common. We liked the same shows, films, and of course video games. I one day told him about my journal entries and he gained an interest. I shared with him one to read, and said he was impressed with my work. He then gave me the idea to share these reviews online so that I could meet more people like me. I was excited and created a cheap site on a Wix editor in one night. Had some reviews typed before in preparation and uploaded. Much like my journal entries nobody read them, but doing this made me feel happy about myself.


I thought this site, this project, would be something I come back to every now and then. It turns out I would attend this site as much as possible. I wrote about every video game I finished and kept people up on what I was doing. Again, it gave me a purpose and it felt like what I was saying mattered. That it contributed to something big. There were a couple moments where I felt displeased with my work. That more could have been done or that there were more points to bring up. Instead of letting this drag me down though I saw it as a way of improving. My future works became more in depth. More critiques, more points, more personal views, even longer explanations, and what could be done to improve. I see video games as an art form. A way to take players on a journey not possible in real life. To tell amazing stories and themes, and have them stick out in their brains for years to come. I want people to see how powerful video games and the experience with them can be. My work evolved and I myself as a person evolved. I’ve learned to mature, take things more seriously, and if I were to act funny or weird it would be for some light hearted comedy. I wanted to stand out as a reviewer. I don’t desire fame, fortune, or attention when it comes to my work. There’s a reason why I never asked for money from this site. I want this to be a place where I talk about games, and others can enjoy listening to these opinions. I want them to share their opinions and discuss about games, and while there’s not much of it on this site I hope this does happen in the future.


So yeah, thank you so much for listening to my crazy rambling. For reading any of the reviews that dare so interest you, and seeing why gaming is so awesome even today. Right now I’m in my second year of college and things are looking hectic. I promise to work hard throughout the year both on this site and school. Expect the best of me, and I shall expect the best of you. Have a lovely day everyone. Chao.


70 views

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page